“ सर्वमङ्गलमाङ्गल्ये शिवे सर्वार्थसाधिके । शरण्ये त्र्यम्बके गौरि नारायणि नमोऽस्तु ते ॥

Durga Maa

2016-02-28 13:16:39, comments: 0

Durga  Sanskrit: (दुर्गा); meaning "the inaccessibleor "the invincible"; durga) is a popular fierce form of the Hindu Goddess or Devi. She is depicted with multiple (variously,from ten up to thousand) arms, carrying various weapons and riding a ferocious lion. She is often pictured as battling or slaying demons, particularly Mahishasura, the buffalo demon.For the Goddess-worshipping Shaktas, Durga is sometimes equated with Mahadevi, the Supreme Goddess. Her triumph as Mahishasura Mardini, Slayer of the buffalo Demon is a central episode of the scripture Devi Mahatmya. Her victory is celebrated annually in the festivals of Navaratri and Durga Puja. 

1) In the word Durga "Durg" means any ostacles/vighnas in spiritual or material life and the shabda ‘aa’ stands  for ‘hanta’or demolisher; inother words Durga demolishes Daityas, Maha Vighna, Bhava bandhana, Karma, Shoka, Duhkha, Naraka, Janma / birth, Yamadanda, Maha Bhaya and Atyanta Roga or extreme illnesses.
2) Narayani denotes kirti (fame), teja (radiance), rupa (excellent Form) and guna (characteristics)of The supreme Narayana.
3) Ishaana is Ishaan + ‘aa’; Ishaan indicates ‘Siddhis’and ‘aa’ stands for ‘Provider’.
4) Vishnu Maya refers to the Thick Cover of Maya or illusion created by Bhagavan Vishnu at the time of Creation of the Universe.
5) Shiv+ aa refers to Durga who is bestower of Shiv / ‘Kalyana’or propitiousness. Also she is the consort of Lord Shiva
6) Sati denotes the Better Half/wife of Lord Shiva, Pativrata or the chaste wife and the epitome of Sadbuddhi / excellent outlook.
7) Durga is Nitya or Everlasting supersoul which resides in the hearts of all living beings as ‘paramatma’.
8) Satya is the Everlasting Truth.
9) Bhagavati denotes the one who is the emblem Bhaga (blessing).Durga can bestow any blessing including the supreme moksha or liberation.
10) Saavarni means the one who provides uniform qualities to all living beings in Srishti from Brahma downward.
11) Sarva Mangala is theEmbodient of Priopitiousness or auspiciousness.
12) Durga is Ambika or the Universal Mother.
13) Vaishnavi is the Shakti or power of Lord Vishnu.
14) Durga is Gauri as she has Goura Varna or the white radiance; also 
she possesses Parama Shakti; Shiva is her Guru as well as Shri Krishna.
15) She is Parvati or Parvata Raja Putri and the Adhishtaana Devata of‘Parva’/Festivities. Parvati not only means daughter of parvatas or mountains but being the supreme source of all shaktis it is Parvati who is worshipped during festivals or parvas for any other goddess. Since all goddesses have their origin from parvati if we worship any goddess we are indirectly worshipping parvati or durga.
16) Sanatani denotes ‘Sanaa’ or Sarvada and ‘tani’ or Vidyamaan or the eternal one. 
Categories entry: Encyclopedia
« back

Add a new comment

Manifo.com - free business website